Slow cooker dessert: apple butterscotch crisp

Here is an easy recipe for a slow cooker dessert that I happened to try this past weekend.  The fall flavors appealed to me as well as the ease of preparation. The taste was excellent and comparable to any of my baked apple crisp or cobbler recipes.  It is nice to be able to prepare the ingredients and not think about the dessert for 4.5 to 5 hours.  The slow cooker does the work and the result is  equal to any other baked dessert I have prepared in the past.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

I found this recipe in one of Jonnie Downing’s books, as she is the website editor for CrockpotNinja.com.

To make the crisp, assemble the following ingredients:  3-4 large Granny Smith or other firm apples, 1/2 cup flour, 1/2 cup quick cook oats, 3/4 light brown sugar, 1 package instant butterscotch pudding mix, 1 teaspoon cinnamon, and 1 stick cold unsalted butter.

Spray the slow cooker with vegetable spray.  Place the sliced and peeled apples in the cooker first.  In a bowl, combine the rest of the ingredients, while cutting in the margarine into small crumbles.  Sprinkle this mixture over the sliced apples.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Cover and cook on low for up to 5 hours.  Serve warm with whipped cream or vanilla ice cream topped with a caramel drizzle.  Easy, simple and delicious.

For this recipe, I had the opportunity to use the new Bru Joy dual-blade stainless steel julienne peeler, which is professional in every measure.  It is sturdy, strong, and ultra-sharp.  In fact, I used my mandoline glove to protect my hand during apple peeling.  I am very impressed with this product. I can’t see myself using any other vegetable/fruit peeler except this one again.

For more information, please see this link:  http://www.amazon.com/Bru-Joy-Ultra-Sharp-Vegetable-Stainless/dp/B00K5I73YS/ref=sr_1_sc_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1417461890&sr=8-1-spell&keywords=bru+joy+stainless+steel+vegetable+pepler#customerReviews

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

One Comment Add yours

  1. Arielle says:

    Oh wow it looks so delicious!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

