Individual meatloaves or maybe just large meatballs ?

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESSince I shared a recipe yesterday for an individual sized serving dish, I though I would share this recipe for tomato glazed meatloaves which are individually prepared.  This recipe comes from the Smitten Kitchen Cookbook, 2012.

A fellow blogger turned cookbook author has complied several of her recipes into a beautiful cookbook.  I borrowed this book from our local library, and tried the smaller sized preparation.  I haven’t been a red meat-eater  since 1994, and personally, I think it has given me great benefits.  However, about once every four months, I decide to try a recipe that includes ground beef. (my husband is typically thrilled those evenings)

I would have to say that this recipe includes a great tomato glaze and the small meatloaves or large meatballs (which ever you decided to call them) are really fantastic.  Be reminded that I am not a typical beef eater, so sometimes the taste is so delicious to me since I am not consuming on a regular basis. The cooking time on this recipe goes faster, because the mini meatloaves are baked in the oven separately on the sheet pan.  This is a great recipe to make and freeze, if you just want one mini meatloaf.  You can easily save the others.  As usual, I changed up the recipe a bit, and my version is below.

Make the glaze first in a small sauce pot.  Combine 4 tablespoons vegetable oil, with 1/4 cup tomato paste, 2 tablespoons cider vinegar, 2 teaspoons honey, 2 teaspoons Worcestershire sauce, and table salt to taste. Heat and simmer for 2 minutes and then set aside until ready to baste.  As an option, barbecue sauce , chili sauce or ketchup could be substituted.

Next, preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Measure 3/4 cup Panko breadcrumbs into a bowl. Next, add one chopped white onion, 1 minced garlic clove, 1 stalk celery chopped, 1 carrot chopped into a skillet with 2 tablespoons olive oil.  Simmer until soft.  Add these ingredients to the Panko crumbs.  Season with salt and pepper. Prepare to add the rest of the ingredients to the bowl.

Then add, 1 pound of ground round, 1 tablespoon tomato paste, 1 egg, and 1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce.  Mix together and form into four mini meatloaves. Place on a baking sheet. Glaze with the sauce.  Bake for 20 to 25 minutes.  A cooking thermometer will  need to register 160-165 for the meat to be well cooked.  Serve with roasted potatoes and green beans for that classic feast.

Leave a Reply

