yummy lo mein noodles

During another blog surfing session, I found inspiration for home-made lo mein noodles.  I happen to love my new recipe, as I have changed up the one I found to tweak it to perfection.  It is very satisfying to be able to re-create some of my favorite foods at home.  No more wondering what these restaurants have added to the recipe, and the savings in money and calories is unreal.  I guess this is why these restaurants can make a living.  The mark up on very inexpensive ingredients is amazing.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Here is how I make my own yummy lo mein noodles:

First of all, I use about 4 ounces or 1/2 package of spaghetti noodles. Boil according to the package directions.  Next, mix these ingredients in a small bowl:  2 1/2 tablespoons low sodium soy sauce, 2 teaspoons sugar, 1 1/2 teaspoons sesame oil, and 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger.

In a large open skillet, add 2 tablespoons olive oil and warm.  Add a small amount of minced garlic to taste, one box of white mushrooms, thinly sliced and chopped, 3/4 chopped red pepper, and about 15 chopped petite carrots.  Cook about 5 minutes, stirring until softened.  Then, stir in about 10-15 snow peas or Chinese pea pods, and 1 cup of fresh leafy arugula.  Cook another 4 minutes.

To finish the dish, add the drained noodles and prepared sauce.  Toss and serve with home-made egg rolls.  This is a delicious dish for those who love Asian meals.  My egg roll recipe can be found here:  

https://angelfoodgarden.wordpress.com/2012/10/21/easy-egg-rolls-and-cranberry-dipping-sauce/

Egg rolls can be adapted to what is on hand.  I have used shredded cooked chicken or shrimp, chopped carrots, chopped green onions, bean sprouts, and even chopped water chestnuts for filling.

Noodle inspiration from http://www.damndelicious.net .

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Leave a Reply

