French pressed coffee and Lofthouse cookies

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Although I have never tried the Lofthouse cookies at the grocery, I seem to pass by the table of them every time I visit the store.  They seem to be such a popular cookie.  I happened to find the recipe for them on centercutcook.com , along with the best frosting recipe for cookies around.  This frosting recipe is perfect for cookies as it is soft and creamy, and seems to begin to harden almost immediately.  In fact, I was icing the cookies and decided to wait to apply my sprinkles, and when I had finished just over two dozen cookies; the first batch was already too hard to allow the sprinkles to catch onto the tops.  Wow.  That is wonderful.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

I chose to color the icing pink for Easter, but any color would work.  It only takes a dot of gel food color to tint the icing, so make certain not too use too much.  More can always be added when mixing.  I used a stand mixer for the cookie dough, but a hand mixer for the icing.  I also allowed the cookies to cool at least 2 hours before decorating.

 

Dough ingredients

1 cup sugar, 1/2 cup butter softened to room temp, 2 eggs at room temperature, 1/2 cup sour cream, 2 teaspoons vanilla extract, 3 cups flour, 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder, 1/2 teaspoon baking soda, and 1/2 teaspoon salt.

Frosting ingredients

2 cups powdered sugar, 1 teaspoon vanilla extract, 2 tablespoons milk, 1/2 cup butter softened to room temp and food color of choice.   Sprinkles as desired.

To make the recipe:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  In a stand mixer, add butter and sugar.  Mix well and then add sour cream, eggs and vanilla.  In another bowl, add flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt.  Slowly add to stand mixer and incorporate.

Using a large cookie scoop, scoop out cookies to an ungreased cookie sheet.  The recipe makes just over 2 dozen cookies.  Leave 1-2 inches between the cookies and slightly flatten the cookies with an offset spatula before baking.  Bake for 12 minutes and remove from oven.  The cookies will not look browned.  I used the convection cooking option on my oven for even baking.

Remove from the baking sheets to cool well before icing.  When cooled, prepare the frosting ingredients starting with creaming the butter first with a hand mixer.  Add in the powdered sugar one cup at a time and mix.  Then finally, add in the vanilla and milk.  At the end, tint with a dab of food color and mix well with the hand mixer.  Frost and add sprinkles if desired.

The cookies look just likes the ones in the store.  My husband says they taste the same as well.  I prefer to make my own, since this recipe is super simple.

In fact, the icing recipe will be my new “go to” recipe for other cookie decorating. Serve with a great cup of French pressed coffee.

IMG_2341

I found this amazing Stainless Steel coffee press by Francois and Mimi.  The finish is mirror-like and the pot is super sturdy and heavy.  I love the vintage feel of the press and the wonderful performance.  This pot seem to keep the four cups of coffee warm for over one hour.  It holds 34 ounces and has a drip proof spout. Clean up is so easy with the stainless steel finish.

 

I made my coffee and waited 3-4 minutes for brew time, and loved the taste.  With a bit of whipped cream, and a tasty cookie–my afternoon break was simply splendid yesterday.

For more information on the vintage design stainless coffee press, follow this link: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00U84S5XC

#FrenchPress

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

