lemon chicken

I consider lemon a Spring flavor, and I have been cooking with lemon juice and lemon zest the past couple of weeks.  One of the easiest and most delicious chicken recipes has an Asian inspiration, made with lemon.  And, this recipe even has a shortcut, which uses lemon curd for the sauce.

I can’t remember where this recipe originated, probably with Martha Stewart, as I have used her recipes for years, but here is my take on lemon chicken which is better than any found at a restaurant.

I simply grill thin chicken breasts, and at the same time, prepare the sauce.  I use one jar of lemon curd, and dilute with chicken broth until the mixture is no longer thick and congealed. Perhaps I use about 1/2 cup of chicken broth.  I heat the lemon curd on the stove top and gradually add the broth, until an even sauce consistency is reached.  Once the mixture comes to a boil, I allow it to boil for about 4-5 minutes.

When the chicken has finished cooking, I serve with white rice, topped with shredded lettuce and chopped green onions.  The plating is done in this order.   Rice, shredded lettuce, green onion, grilled chicken and then topped with lemon sauce.

This entrée was a perfect choice for Mother’s Day. I served the dish with glazed carrots.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Leave a Reply

