planting pickles and peppers

After a full Spring season of garden clean-up and a fresh layer of mulch for the paths, my kitchen garden is back in operation.

Earlier this week I had a chance to plant my summer small-sized cucumber pickles and mild sweet peppers.  The garden continues to be filled with herbs, some vegetables, and perennial flowers for flower arranging and simple enjoyment around the perimeter.

An assortment of bulbs bloom from mid-Spring through Summer, including daffodils, tulips, small iris, bearded iris, and an assortment of Allium. I did have some herb loss from our very cold Winter, which included several sage and thyme plants.

I am always so pleased to watch my kitchen garden plantings come back year after year. My perennial herbs are sage, thyme, lavender, sorrel, lemon balm, walking onions, lambs ear, oregano, chives, rue, savory, marjoram, comfrey, and horseradish.  I planted annual herbs this year of flat leaf parsley, rosemary, lemon verbena, chamomile and basil either in ground or in planters.  I also have a variety of other kitchen garden plantings which include garlic planted last fall and garlic chives.

Nothing is better than enjoying fresh herbs in summer recipes.  Summer crisp and crunchy pickles off the vine, sliced and sprinkled with sea salt are worth the wait.  I usually plant a bush type pickle for my small space garden.

The garden is 30 feet by 30 feet surrounded by a wooden picket fence, which has been lined inside with green chicken wire to prevent rabbit entry. The paths are mulched with hardwood mulch, and the beds are lined with brick.

My Fourth of July tomatoes are planted near my deck this year, however; mache, arugula and other lettuce varieties are also being grown in the kitchen garden.  Anticipation!

 

Leave a Reply

