Hypertufa pots for the garden

Over the years, I have been a member of three different garden clubs and two different Master Gardener Associations.  And, within these groups, I have met many wonderful people with so many interests and knowledge.  At each of these groups, I have attended lectures, seminars, workshops, presentations, and hands-on activities.  Some of the most interesting educational activities for me have to be the hands-on projects.  I have had experiences in bonsai, planting, making herb planters, wreath and flower arranging, holiday centerpieces, and so many more.

Within the past couple of years, an interest in hypertufa has escalated. These containers became popular in the 1930’s and were designed to replicate stone troughs from England.  The rock-like containers are much easier to transport and simple to create.  They are porous and are perfect for planting everything from herbs to succulents.

Gardeners such as P. Allen Smith and Martha Stewart have featured how to make hypertufa pots in articles, books and television shows.  Gardening magazines have featured these stone-like pots in their feature spreads, and my current Master Gardener Association and Garden club each held a fun workshop to make these containers.

IMG_3227

Both of these projects were prepared in kits, where the presenter mixed the ingredients to save time for our groups.  However, the materials are simple to find and the recipes fill the Internet.  The main ingredients are peat moss, perlite and Portland cement mixed with water.  The containers are molded in any type of container.  For my rectangular pot, our club used cardboard boxes.  We used plastic bowls for the other ones.

I am using my pots this year for the first time, since I completed them over the Winter months.  It takes at least 2-3 weeks for the hypertufa to dry.  This is a step that cannot be rushed.  I am so happy with the results, that I just had to share the photos in my blog.  Hypertufa has the rustic garden look and can be a beautiful garden accent to any home garden.

Leave a Reply

