Roasted peppers with pasta stuffing

Inspired by Martha Stewart’s spaghetti stuffing for peppers, I adapted her recipe and prepared an unusual filling for the traditional stuffed peppers of the past.  The key to this recipe is the brightly colored peppers which add to the look and upscale feel of the dish.  Martha peels her peppers after roasting in an open gas flame, and I chose to roast my peppers under the broiler and not peel them.  I like the look of the peppers and the stability they offer by not peeling, when baking with the stuffing.

The dish is delicious and very unexpected for your summer guests.  Since the pasta portion is small, it is not overwhelming for a summertime meal.  This dish does not revolve on the pasta, but the delicious taste of the roasted or baked peppers.

I chose 4 peppers to make the dish, but any number of peppers could be used and ingredients increased to match the need of the party. I cut the tops off of the peppers and cleaned the inside of them.  I chopped the tops of each pepper and placed in a skillet with olive oil.

I roasted the main portion peppers in my oven broiler for 20 minutes, rotating them often on a small sheet pan.  While they were cooking, I boiled a pot of water for the pasta.  In another skillet on the stove top, I added to the chopped pepper tops, 4-5 chopped green onions, one 14.5 ounce can of petite diced tomatoes,  chopped fresh parsley, one small chopped red onion, sea salt, ground black pepper to taste and dried oregano.

While this mixture was cooking, I measured my spaghetti pasta and boiled for 8 minutes as directed on the package.  When the pasta was done, it was drained and added to the pepper mixture.

After the roasting was done in the broiler, I removed the peppers and added the pasta mixture to the pepper insides.

Bake in a preheated oven at 350 degrees for 15 to 18 minutes.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES Served with a side salad, this is a fun meal to enjoy with guests.

Leave a Reply

