salted caramel chocolate chip cookies

Salted caramel “anything” seems to be super popular these past couple of years.  I have seen everything from candy and drinks to cake with this flavor profile.  I recently found a recipe online at the smitten kitchen for these cookies and just had to sample them.  I had a good occasion to try them this week, as a good friend was visiting from out-of-town.  She seemed to like them, and so did my husband.

I made them smaller than the recipe suggested, as I used my smallest cookie scoop.  They could easily be baked in a larger size for any occasion.  I even scooped more smaller sized cookies and froze them on a 1/8 size cookie sheet for over one hour. Then, I took them out of the freezer, placed them in a freezer bag, labeled them and will use them in a week or so, out of the freezer to bake.  This cookie works very nicely for this purpose.  I would recommend baking a couple of more minutes when taking them from frozen.  I like being able to bake only the amount that can be served in a few days.

Make these cookies by first gathering these ingredients:

1/2 cup softened butter, 2 tablespoons granulated sugar, 2 tablespoons turbinado sugar, 3/4 cup mixture of light and dark brown sugar, and 1 large egg.

Combine these ingredients in a stand mixer.  Add 1 teaspoon vanilla extract, 1/4 teaspoon salt, and 3/4 teaspoon baking soda. Mix very well.

Then add 1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour.  Incorporate gradually into the cookie batter.  Finally, add 8 ounces of dark chocolate chips.

I used a small cookie scoop and placed the cookie balls on prepared cookie sheets. I used silpat mats. Add a small sprinkle of flaked sea salt to the top of each cookie.  Place into a preheated 360 degree oven.  I baked my cookies on a convection oven setting, and they were perfect.  I did not have to rotate.  Completed cooking time was 12 minutes.  After baking and removing from the oven, I used a flat-bottomed drinking glass to flatten the cookie for a nice presentation. Allow to cool on cookie sheets before removing.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Suggestion:  The cookie dough is crumbly, so I found that flattening the cookies prior to baking was not very practical.  However, they easily flattened after the short baking time.

Enjoy with lemonade for a summer treat!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Leave a Reply

