Summertime gelato

IMG_3903

IMG_3905Today feels like fall to me in Michigan. I already have a sweatshirt on after the bursts of rain came down these past couple of days. So, I decided that I better catch up with my blog, and post some of my favorite summertime memories.

We tasted some amazing gelato this summer up North at American Spoon in Petoskey, MI. Wow, the flavors were spectacular and I think the presentation was even better. The cafe is very cute with high ceilings and an old-fashioned but upscale feel. The room is bright with large windows. They also have some outdoor seating. We were there in the mid-afternoon for our gelato treat, and it was not busy at all. The cafe serves breakfast and lunch with the gelato until 10 p.m. during the summer months.

Now for the flavors–toasted marshmallow, blood orange, maple pecan, milk caramel,coffee, banana creme caramel, Michigan blueberry and so many more. Each flavor shines in the glass counter and the decision is difficult. Each small cup provides space for tasting up to three flavors. I loved visiting Petoskey and this shop made the trip even more fun.

IMG_3986

Leave a Reply

