Michigan cherry pork chops

Fruit and pork marry very well.  In fact, most people serve apples every time they serve pork chops.  I think it has been written somewhere in every cookbook, that fruit should be served with pork roast, pork chops, or pork loin.

I tried a cherry glaze made from frozen cherries and feel like it has that Michigan vibe.  With cherry festival coming up next month in Northern Michigan, I just had to give a salute to the Michigan cherry and try out the Deen Brother’s glaze.

Basically, I browned four bone in pork chops in a non stick electric skillet in a dash of olive oil. I stirred in some chopped onion, and two cloves of chopped and minced garlic.  I added a 1/4 cup of balsamic vinegar and cooked that through.

Then, I added one bag or about 3 cups of chopped, formerly frozen, black cherries to the pan.   I also added about 1/2 cup of chicken stock.

Allowing the chops and the glaze to cook further, about 10 minutes until it was thickened, I added 2 tablespoons of margarine to give the mixture a glossy sheen.

And, the dish is complete. The taste was on point, not too sweet at all, as the vinegar balances the natural sweet cherry taste.  And the glaze allows the chops to remain tender and moist.  This is one recipe that I will make again.

Leave a Reply

