French crepes

Over the years I have experimented with crepes and found that using a crepe pan had the best results for me.  I have used one crepe recipe for years and found it to work perfectly.  I do chill the batter in the refrigerator and allow it to rest some before preparing each crepe. Crepes do store well, so they can be made in advance and just assembled with fruit or other ingredients just prior to serving.  I keep them covered in a warming oven until ready to use for a breakfast.

Here is my crepe recipe and a couple of photos from a crepe restaurant I visited recently where I totally enjoyed my crepe.  I loved the ideas for other savory and sweet crepes on their menu.

Assemble these ingredients— 1 cup flour, 1 1/2 cups milk, 2 eggs, 1 tablespoon oil, 1/4 teaspoon salt and 1/4 teaspoon sugar.

Combine all ingredients with an electric mixer in a bowl. Heat a lightly greased crepe pan. Use about 5 tablespoons batter per crepe.  Tilt to cover the pan.  Heat one side, then flip to the other side.  Add ingredients and serve. Finish with powdered sugar or syrup if a sweet crepe, or finish with parsley if a savory crepe.  This recipe will make 7 crepes.

 

IMG_8800   IMG_8799

 

Leave a Reply

