Holiday apples

A new year 2017 is here and I have so much to share.  I have been cooking, baking and testing many recipes the past couple of months. And, I have found dozens of new treats. In fact, I have a stack of ideas that are just waiting to jump onto the pages of angelfoodgarden. The past seven years, I have used this blog to share recipes with my family and friends, and as an easy way to record what recipes have worked for me and have tasted great.  I have found it a fun way to look back and enjoy some of our best meals. So, Happy New Year to you as you join me in cooking, baking, and sharing in my gardening experiences in 2017.

And today, why not start with something so simple like oven baked apples?  No, not another apple crisp recipe, but just apples.  Sometimes, something as simple as slicing and baking a fruit can be so delicious.

For this easy recipe for the holidays, I used three Gala apples, sliced them, and placed them in a baking dish.  I sprinkled them lightly with cinnamon and sugar.  Next, I placed a few dots of stick margarine on top and placed the dish in a pre-heated oven at 350 degrees for 45 minutes.  They were delicious for one of our holiday dinners, served with ham and twice baked potatoes.  More apples could be prepared based on the quantity of people being served. So much great texture and better than making applesauce.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Other options for preparation could include– using brown sugar, a splash of vanilla, or any combination desired. Also, these apples could be served with a dot of whipped cream.

 

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

