Chicken with white wine sauce

Delicious one pot meals that come together for a satisfying dinner happen to be some of my favorite dinners.  Even though I try many more complicated dishes, somehow these easy dishes are quite tasty and enjoyable.  This particular dish is easy enough to serve to guests and eliminates lots of time spent in the kitchen just prior to serving.

The second time I prepared this dish, I did use a second saute pan and not just my Staub pot, and it made the dish go a bit faster.  This is how to make this dish:

In my Staub pot, I used about 1 tablespoon olive oil and browned 4 chicken thighs on the stove top. I seasoned the chicken with ground pepper and parsley flakes.  I cooked the chicken for about 7-8 minutes on both sides until brown and then added about 1/2 teaspoon dried rosemary.

While this was cooking, I started the second step. When the chicken has browned sufficiently, it goes into the oven at 400 degrees.

  

In a large non-stick saute pan, I browned one small package of sliced mushrooms and 2 medium shallots.  When browned, I added 2/3 cup white wine, 1 cup chicken broth and 3 tablespoons sour cream and continued to simmer on low on the stove top.

After the chicken has cooked for 30 minutes, add the mushroom mixture and continue to bake for another 30 minutes.  I added fresh chives and fresh thyme on top.

The chicken can be served with the sauce, along with a side of rice or noodles and a green vegetable.  Delicious!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

