Indoor herb garden

Last month I planted an indoor herb garden using the culinary herb kit which came with the Miracle-Gro AeroGarden Classic 6.  Even though I am an Advanced Master Gardener and enjoy growing edibles outdoors, I have not been a fan of indoor gardens.  What attracted me to this system is the soil-free hydroponic features of this garden.  It also uses LED high performance lighting for maximum plant growth.  Everything was included in this particular kit, even the plant food which is required for the best growth.

Even the pods are pre-seeded, guaranteed to germinate, and grow faster than if planted in soil.  The garden’s lights are timed and come on based with the program provided within the system.  The unit notifies me when the plants need food and more water to nourish their root system.

Since planting day on March 15th, I have been very happy with my new indoor herb garden.  The plants began to grow under the provided grow domes within one week and have been growing nicely ever since those first days.

Since Michigan weather is just now warming up, and my perennial herbs outdoors are waking up for the season–I haven’t been without my own home grown herbs for a couple of months.

Harvesting has been fun and easy.  My culinary herbs include two types of Basil, Thyme, Mint, Dill and Parsley. I have been using them in my cooking and love to snip just what I need for a particular dish.

Placed in my sun room, the AeroGarden does not take up much room and is quite attractive, adding some green to the environment. The garden does not use GMO seeds, herbicides or pesticides either.  In six months, I plan to try the lettuce kit and enjoy fresh grown greens throughout the Fall.

AeroGardens have been around for many years, so I am happy now to be on board as an indoor gardener.  Kits can be bought at Home Depot, online or at many specialty cooking stores.

Leave a Reply

