Shrimp Alfredo in a pressure cooker

Would you believe that it is possible to cook delicate shrimp in a pressure cooker?  Well, it is possible and was super easy to make and serve a dinner very quickly with this recipe.

I have had some fears about using an electric pressure cooker.  So much so, that I have kept mine in a box for many months.  I would read the recipes and think about the process and then say, “well, maybe another day.”

So that day came.  And, the process was super easy.  It took only this recipe to convince me that pressure cooking is really all that has been proclaimed. Put ingredients into a pot, close the lid and “presto” a meal has been created.  That actually happens.

Here is how I made the magic happen with shrimp.  Gather these ingredients:  olive oil, 1 medium yellow onion, 2 cups tri-color penne pasta, 12 to 14 ounces of frozen shrimp, 2 1/2 cups chicken stock, 1 Tablespoon Pensey’s minced garlic, 1 teaspoon shrimp boil, 1/2 cup of half and half, 1 cup grated Parmesan cheese and 1/2 cup of grated Swiss cheese, 2 teaspoons Wondra flour, salt and pepper to taste and parsley flakes.

Using my Cuisinart pressure cooker, I heated a couple Tablespoons of oil and browned the onion for about 2-3 minutes.  Next, I added the dry pasta, shrimp, chicken stock, garlic, and shrimp boil seasoning to the pot.  I locked the pot and cooked on High for 7 minutes.

I used the quick release and removed the pressure. I opened the pot and added the half and half, Swiss cheese, Parmesan cheese, flour, salt and pepper and simmered for 6 minutes.  Serve with parsley flakes and enjoy.

This is a quick dish and will serve 2-3 people.

Leave a Reply

