All American Apple tart

Are you already thinking about the upcoming summer holidays?  We have Father’s day this coming weekend and then the 4th of July soon to follow.  I am planning to prepare a classic apple dessert for the 4th this year to celebrate.

My husband recently purchased the Le Creuset apple tart pan that I have been dreaming about for many years as a surprise gift.  Needless to say, since it has been on my wish list for years, I could not wait another moment to bake a tart to give it a trial run.

I used the recipe from Le Creuset and made a couple of adjustments based on the apples I had on hand.  I also used a refrigerated pie crust this time to save a few steps.  Their recipe includes a great pie crust dough.

So, here is how my tart came together, and it was tasty.

I used 3 Granny Smith apples and 4 Red Delicious apples, peeled, cored and sliced thin, 3/4 cup brown sugar, 1/3 cup granulated sugar, 1 tsp ground cinnamon, 1/4 teaspoon salt, 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg, 2 tablespoons unsalted butter cut into small pieces, 1 egg white mixed with 1 teaspoon water, and 2 teaspoons sugar for the topping

First, I sliced and peeled the apples and mixed with all of the above ingredients in a large bowl, except the butter, egg white and 2 teaspoons sugar.

I placed this mixture into the apple-shaped tart pan and baked at 375 degrees for 40 minutes.  I removed the excess liquid from the dish.

While the apples were baking, I prepared my refrigerated pie crust by slicing the strips for the top of the tart.  I also used smaller leaf and apple cookie cutters to decorate the top of the tart.

Now that the apples are cooked part way, I placed the pie crust strips on the tart and decorated with the other pie crust shapes.  I brushed the top of the crust with the egg white mixture and sprinkled with sugar.  Next, I returned the tart to the oven and baked at 400 degrees for another 20-25 minutes until the crust was brown.

This was an excellent tasting tart and would be perfect for the 4th of July.  Dad might even like it too this coming weekend served with a large scoop of vanilla ice cream.

Delicious!

I continue to love my Venn Kitchen tools, and used some of the measuring scoops for this dish.  They are the perfect size and neatly stack in my cupboard for easy access.  I also used the measuring jug set to separate my egg white.  And, it was a time saver.

For more information on these and many more products, follow Venn Kitchen online.

 

Leave a Reply

