Jacobson’s department store was my all time favorite place to shop.  I have memories of this neighborhood store from my childhood.  In fact, we could walk to this department store from my home.  I grew up with Jacobson’s, having shopped for everything from clothes, shoes, jewelry, candy, stationery, and items for my home after we were married in the late 70’s.

Over the years, I had many lunches with my mother and even my daughter in the St. Clair room.  It was a special place for a ladies’ lunch.  We were very disappointed when the stores closed their doors, but still have great memories from those days. We even visited the Jacobson’s in Florida when we would vacation.

I was gifted a book about the history of Jacobson’s which included recipes served in their stores over the years.  I made their Quiche recently, and actually remember ordering this in the past.  So cheesy and fluffy.  If you remember Jacobson’s, you might want to try this recipe.  I promise you it will bring back memories.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

This recipe will make 6-8 servings.

Begin by gathering these ingredients:  6 large eggs, 1/2 cup half and half mixed with 1/2 cup milk, 1 1/2 cups shredded cheddar cheese, 1 1/2 cups shredded Swiss cheese, 1 pie crust, 1/2 teaspoon basil, paprika and nutmeg to taste.  (I also added some chopped red pepper.)

Beat eggs.  Add milk and mix.  Prepare pie crust, but do not bake.  Add cheese to shell.  Add basil to eggs.  Pour eggs over cheese.  Top with paprika and nutmeg.  Bake 325 for 45 minutes.  Check the center for doneness.  Cool for 10 minutes prior to slicing.

This is a great recipe for a ladies’ lunch, served with a side salad or fruit.

Leave a comment